This page is an outline of your rights and resources and may not include all the rights/options that may be available to you. Under California law (Cal. Penal Code § 680.2) any law enforcement officer or medical provider must provide you with materials that clearly spell out your rights. If you have further questions, please contact your rape crisis center, medical provider, and/or law enforcement officer.
For comprehensive information about survivor rights, please see the UC Berkeley Notice of Rights and Options document.
To help keep you safe, you have the right to seek:
- A civil protection order: More information on the process is available on the California Courts website
- An emergency protective order: Ask a law enforcement officer
You have the right to request financial assistance for covering the costs arising from your assault through the Victim Compensation Board in California
Sexual assault counselor and support person
You have the right to have a sexual assault counselor (victim advocate) and at least one other person of your choosing present during any exam or investigative interview.
Any questions related to your rights as a survivor of sexual assault can be answered by your rape crisis center confidential advocate. Advocates are trained in support services, local referrals, and law enforcement and other government processes.
Contacting a rape crisis center
You have the right to contact your local rape crisis center, at:
- The UC Berkeley PATH to Care Center (Confidential) [On-campus]
- For urgent support, 24 hours, 7 days a week, please call the CARE Line at 510-643-2005. To make an appointment with an advocate, please call the office line at 510-642-1988 or email email@example.com (will be responded to during business hours).
- Bay Area Women Against Rape (BAWAR) [off-campus]
- 24-hour sexual assault crisis hotline: 510-800-4247
Please contact your local rape crisis center for more information and support. Rape crisis centers have confidential advocates that keep conversations private.
Reporting to UC Berkeley
- The Office for the Prevention of Harassment and Discrimination (OPHD)
Reporting to law enforcement
- The University of California Police Department (UCPD)
- 24/7 emergency phone line: 510-642-3333
- 24/7 non-emergency phone line: 510-642-6760
- Berkeley Police Department (BPD)
- 24/7 phone line: 510-981-5900
- Urgent Care at University Health Services (UHS), Tang Center
- Phone: 510-642-3188
- UHS Advice Nurse (After-hours medical assistance): 510-643-7197
- Highland Hospital (authorized site for forensic evidence collection)
- Phone: 510-4374800
- Address: Wilma Chan Highland Hospital Campus, 1411 E. 31st St, Oakland, CA 94602
More about your rights as a survivor of sexual assault
- You are never required to participate in the criminal justice system or receive a physical exam in order to keep your rights. You get to choose whether you get an exam, whether and how you report the assault, and how much you participate in the process.
- You have the right to ask for the status and results of the analysis of all evidence related to your assault. Ask the law enforcement officer for a tracking number and steps to get follow-up information.
- You have the right to know that DNA and other types of evidence can degrade/break down overtime due to exposure to heat, water, and other materials. In general, DNA evidence on the body last from 12 hours to 7 days. You have the right to be informed of the following:
- Whether or not the evidence is analyzed within 18 months of your assault.
- Whether or not a DNA profile of your assailant was developed from the evidence.
- Whether or not the DNA profile of your assailant has been entered into the law enforcement database.
- Whether or not the DNA profile of your assailant matches a DNA profile contained in the law enforcement database.
- If the evidence related to your assault will be tested, it should be transported to the lab and analyzed within 24 MONTHS.
- The evidence related to your assault must be kept for 20 YEARS, or for victims under age 18 at the time of the offense, until your 40TH BIRTHDAY.
- You have the right to request in writing and receive a FREE COPY OF THE INITIAL CRIME REPORT related to your assault.
- If your assailant is convicted and required to register as a sex offender, you have the right to REQUEST THEIR SEX OFFENDER REGISTRY INFORMATION from the prosecutor.